I, for One, Welcome Our New DK Overlords

September 19, 2008 at 12:02 pm (World of Warcraft)

So far in the LK beta I did one evening of just messing around, one of a couple quests in Borean Tundra, and I spent the morning today making a DK.  As someone that didn’t think they would enjoy or play the class at all in live, let me tell you that I think a DK will be my highest alt.

Whether you like the idea or not, you owe it to yourself to try them out when LK goes live.  The quests and story is really cool.  I’m still not sure why _I_ switched sides, but I’m glad my leadership did.  The playstyle is a non-issue as you’re completely overpowered when you start off in greens, and insane as you get your blue set and talent points.  My one caution is that if you really want to get into the lore, I’d recommend waiting a month if not more after release.  I don’t know how many beta players there are, but there were an insane number of DKs running around.  Launch day will have to be close to when the AQ gates were opened.  Last tip, don’t mess with talents or upgrading skills until you’re done.  You don’t need them, and the intro doesn’t really show you how the class really plays.

My biggest regret is that I can’t convert an existing character to a DK.  My warrior just recently hit 70, and now the grinds for pets and tanking gear really start.  The problem is I’ve found I really don’t like the class.  I really wish there was someway to move all those cool items I’ve aquired over the last 3 years over to a DK when the time comes so I can leave her behind.

Back to the Borean Tundra, my first wish for WotLK is to get a new bow to replace my noisy Don Santos.  On the very first quest with rewards I replaced it with this. Slightly higher DPS, and the proc (which is awesome) is replaced with some nice stats.  My only complaint was that I then had to run back to SW to replace my ammo pouch with a quiver… and then forgot to buy arrows too. I’ll take that drawback anyday.

I’m now really looking forward to LK.

2 Comments

  1. Escada said,

    You have renewed my interest in trying out a dk when wrath comes out!
    I guess what turned me off was for one, everyone is going to play one right off the bat, and two, I want to get my hunter up to 80 pronto without distractions. Believe me it will take me a long time to get to 80 lol. I will try one out and see if I like it, just for the story even.

    I enjoy reading your blog and am linking you on mine. You have definitely put in a lot of work on this blog, and your reviews are helpful even if things will al be changing soon enough. :)

  2. ihlos said,

    Ya know i’ve never really considered making a DK before, but you do make it sound interesting…. hmmmm =)

Leave a Reply

