Pet Review – Wolf, Boar

June 24, 2008 at 11:45 am (Guide, Hunter, Warcraft, World of Warcraft) (, , )

I finally have a whole morning to play WoW and I go and forget that it’s maintenance today. So, the wolf review is up. There seems to be a lot of people interested in this review, and I’m not sure why. I mean they’re not high DPS, they don’t have a focus dump, … are they expecting them to be #1 based on personality? Speaking of which, I think I actually got more attached to my cat and I hate cats and love dogs IRL. Anyway, read the review and post your (constructive) thoughts and experiences with wolves.

My boar is very close to 65 which I’m pretty happy with. I’m really working towards finishing so that I can get a 70 nether ray from slave pens before midsummer fest is over. That would leave me with only 4 pets left to review before WotLK possibly changes everything.

3 Comments

  1. Shirg said,

    Hmm.. do low DPS allways means that it is bad pet? i just wonder… even crab beats wolf? Woah, is claw realy (i mean REALY) that good? :D

  2. Tinski said,

    Good luck whit tthe boar :) jeah, plagued one is ugly but armored are badassess <3 sadly, they are too low lvl

  3. Znodis said,

    Shirg

    Keep in mind that the biggest issue hunters have with pets is not dying, its holding agro. The only way that differs from pet to pet is through DPS and abilities. When I compared the actual DPS for my crab (w/ -3% and claw) to a spider (w/ +7% and no focus dump), I found the crab to be generating 10+% more DPS. A wolf would even be a step below that so that’s getting close to 20%. So, how significant is that? That’s a warrior choosing to tank in battle stance rather than defensive. It can be done, but why when there is a better choice.

Leave a Reply

