Pet Review – 8 to go.

May 19, 2008 at 10:34 am (Guide, Hunter, Pets, Warcraft, World of Warcraft) (, , , )

Brak and Kite served me well, and you can see how well in the Serpent and Dragonhawk reviews. Both were surprising families for completely opposite reasons.

Serpents seemed to be a Ctrl-c/Ctrl-v family based on windserpents. Lower the DPS, change the ranged focus dump to a ranged DoT, and take away the movement ability. Great, new family! /sigh Did they really have to make them worse in every way they could think of? Give ’em some armor or something as at least a token improvement.

For all of the things that dragonhawks share with other families, they still felt unique. Almost complete, in fact, except for lack of a focus dump, but if Firebreath were a 3s cooldown rather than 10s, it would make up for it. Maybe not raid worthy, but definitely moved to the recommended category for other endeavors.

Too bad I can’t recommend either of them.

From here out, I’m going down the list in order of the highest level I can tame. That’s pretty much what I was already doing except so many were level 70 that DPS seemed more logical. If you’re wondering how long until I review a certain family, here is a rough order:

Carrion bird – Dire Raven (68)
Wolf – Bloodmaul Battle Worg (67)
Nether ray – Coilfang Ray (64) (I may try to get in a heroic again for the 70 since 6 levels is a lot)
Bear – Rabid Shardtooth (60)
Boar – Dire raccoon… erm, Plagued Swine (60)
Turtle – Coralshell Lurker (54)
Gorilla – Un’goro Thunderer (53)
Hyena – Snickerfang Hyena (50)

It’s kind of nice that Hyenas are last. When I looked for ‘clone’ families, they were actually the only one I could have skipped. They’re exactly the same as wolves, with the exception of not having furious howl. I’m also surprised at how many families were level 60 or higher. Only 4 were not (crabs would be there too) and those families are probably not going to make it very high on the list.

15 out of 23 done. Honestly, I didn’t think I would make it this far. In the back of my mind, I was actually only going to do the families that people wanted to know about: cats, windserpents, ravagers, etc. and leave the ‘bad families alone since no one cared anyway. Bear, boar, carrion bird, and wolf are the unreviewed 4 that were on the short list of 12. I figured no one would really miss the other 11, and I could do those leisurely, if at all.

I’ve really been enjoying finding the quirks of each even if they’re not going to make it on the recommended list. 8 more to go. Will I make it before WotLK? Things seem to be coming up fast, and these are going to be the slowest families.

2 Comments

  1. Fearstalker said,

    Since carrion birds are next… I just found the joys of AOE aggro. :-) Sending my raven in on a pack of clefthoof in nagrand is cool. Still some aggro issues, but the raven is still 69/3 so I’m sure he will be better at 70/6. Looking forward to it.

  2. Jayhawk said,

    Looking forward to the next installment =)

Leave a Reply

