Pet Review – No Ray

April 9, 2008 at 10:30 am (Guide, Hunter, Pets, Warcraft, World of Warcraft) (, , , , , , , )

I have updated the Pet Review to include both bats and spiders. Bats made the #3 spot just inching out owls because of their increased wingspan for increased annoyance.  Spiders got #1! … on the ‘not recommended’ list.  Sorry, but they were worse than my crab, who I already feel like I’m recommending just because I love him. I had thought that the lack of a focus dump could be made up for by the +7% increased base DPS.  At least compared to my -5% DPS crab.  Nope.  In fact I did a little spreadsheet research.

With my talent build spiders were listed as contributing 193.38 DPS while crabs give 200.81 DPS.  Take away Beastial Discipline and nothing changes.  Wait. What?  Yep, I have high enough crit that GftT generates all my extra focus.  Not that I can drop it because that would screw up my testing here… /sigh.  Ok, so how much effect does GftT have with BD back in?  Spider: 193.38  Crab: 189.34. And now without either, Spider: 193.10  Crab: 174.32.  For the record my raptor shows 225.09 with both and 196.98 with neither.

Lesson: Without a focus dump ability, Both Beastial Discipline and Go for the Throat are wasted talent points.  You probably already knew that.  On the other hand, they’re a 27 DPS bonus for my otherwise useless crab (Sorry, Frothy).  If you’re a hunter and you don’t have at least GftT, please reconsider.  12 points in MM is well worth it for any build.

The careful observer who already went to the review page may have noticed that instead of Neither Ray, the next pet is Tallstrider.  I actually took the day off yesterday, and could not get in a group for Heroic Slave Pens during my allotted “goof-off and neglect what you really should be doing with your day off” time.  So, I’m just going to grab level 70 pets until it’s the daily on my server.  Going through 6 levels when I could spend my time elsewhere was a wise decision.  I really dodged a bullet by not testing boars first.

Leave a Reply

