Windfall

March 26, 2008 at 9:16 am (Tradeskills, Warcraft, World of Warcraft)

I have a few alts running around on servers other than Kel’Thuzad, and always I go with 2 gathering tradeskills so that I don’t have to worry about money. On one server in particular, the only thing that seemed to sell for a decent price was ‘light leather.’ I went for about a gold a stack where everything else, such as copper bars, bronze bars, medium leather, even gems, was going for less than 50s. It was pretty pointless to try to sell anything else. I happily farmed it, bought it cheap from people who didn’t know what the going rate was, and had almost enough for my first mount, and several blues before I hit 30.

Then just 10g away from my mount, for whatever reason, the market dropped. 20s a stack became standard, and that price was actually less than the ‘cheap buys’ I had picked up. I had 25-30 stacks I had bought for 40s. I was losing money on the deal, and even if I sold everything for 20s, it still wouldn’t be enough for my mount (6g). So I just sat on it for a month and hoped that the prices would go up. They didn’t.

Now it’s time for drastic measures – manipulating auctioneer. Personally, I love the addon, but you have to watch out for people that are doing what I’m about to tell you.

I created an alt and sent him 5 stacks of light leather. I then had him list each stack for 10g / 48 hours. Two days later, the price is up to 40s. Repeat – 60s. There’s the occational listing for 20s still, but I just buy them out again since I know the price will go up. It’s now at 80s or so, and I’m seeing people list for over 1g, and none for less than 40s. I’ve sold my inventory and will be riding around in just a few levels. </MarketManipulation>

Now here’s the great part.

I logged in to my cheat character and found in the mail: 4 stacks of light leather and a paycheck for 10g.

Leave a Reply

