Why I Moderate Comments

March 24, 2008 at 11:47 am (Guide, Hunter, Warcraft, World of Warcraft)

I had a comment submitted the other day that claimed:

  1. About the pets not gaining XP, their loyalty lvl has to be at 3 or better, at least that’s how it seems to work for me.
  2. … after the 20 seconds are up on the feed pet timer, feed them again, at least up to 3 times, then go battle a couple guys and feed them once more.
  3. if you want to dismiss your pet without losing loyalty, use the stay command(CTRL-3) to make them stay and walk as far away as you can from them.
  4. Hunters are one of my fav classes in WoW.

Note the ascending order of likelihood.

The first point is in regard to some poor hunter whose pet refused to level. He tamed a level 8 when he hit 10, and it stayed there all the way to 15. I have no clue how this happened. Our helpful commenter (who is level 64) chimed in and I thought maybe there was a new bug or something. I hopped on my tauren, stabled my pet. I then grabbed the next beast I could find, killed something, and gained exp. No approval for this comment…

How could this guy not have tried that? Was he trying to spread misinformation? If you’re going to advise someone, at least know what your saying is true.

Points #2 and #3 are things I’ve heard a number of times, but never seen proven or tested. Especially, with the force-feeding issue, most hunter sites just flat-out ignore it without bothering to say if it’s right or wrong. Number 3 is pretty much a non-issue since 50 happiness is nothing, but again, I’ve never seen anyone state a ‘yes’ or ‘no.’

Since these rumors are not alone, I’ve decided to add a ‘Rumors‘ section to my FAQ. Rather than ignoring these gems of advice, I plan to test them. Think of it as snopes for hunters. You can see some of the interesting things people have submitted as advice there already. I’m treating everything as at least possible, until I have tested it myself. A few will be updated when I get some game time tonight or tomorrow.

If you have any questions or know any rumors, go a head and comment there. I’ll do my best to check them out.

As for #4, I’m wonder what his other fav classes are…

3 Comments

  1. Mania said,

    Re #3: So far as I know, this works, but I have never tested it exhaustively. I use stay-and-walk-away to dismiss my pets and haven’t noticed a happiness drop, whereas I use the Dismiss skill when I want to drop happiness explicitly. But … I will be interested to see your test results. :>

  2. Kolan said,

    As far as #2 goes the easiest way to see if your pet is as happy as it can be and fully fed is to look at your combat log. You will otice that it says “Jaguar gains 35 happiness from feed pet effect”. Once the happiness gain drops to 0 your pet is as well fed as can be. No point in continuing to feed it. However your pet can be happy but still gain benefits if not completely well fed. Your combat log will eventually show this.

    Jaguar gains 35 happiness from feed pet effect
    Jaguar gains 35 happiness from feed pet effect
    Jaguar gains 17 happiness from feed pet effect
    Jaguar gains 17 happiness from feed pet effect
    Jaguar gains 5 happiness from feed pet effect
    Jaguar gains 5 happiness from feed pet effect
    Jaguar gains 0 happiness from feed pet effect
    Jaguar gains 0 happiness from feed pet effect

    Cheers

    Kol

  3. Znodis said,

    # 3 is definitely true and has been updated on Rumors.

Leave a Reply

