New Scam

November 1, 2007 at 9:33 am (Warcraft, World of Warcraft)

Been gone for a bit, but hopefully posting will be a bit more consistent next week. I just had to pop on and tell you about the latest gold seller scam.

I was over at the exodar on my auction house character checking on epic weapons for some of my alts as they level and I saw this message:

WTB [Krol Blade] 300g

Nothing too odd about that. I actually had just seen one on the AH for 200bid/250BO. I thought he must have just logged on and had a macro he hit whenever he logged on hoping to get his epic but hadn’t checked the AH yet. I was at the inn at the time trick-or-treating, and just figured someone made an easy 50g or he was already on his way to the AH. However, as I was heading back to the AH a few minutes later, he posted the same message again. I did a /who and sure enough he was a 32 hunter in SW. Thinking he was a newbie and not wanting to take advantage (and not thinking about how a newb that can’t find the AH could have 300g at level 32), I started a conversation (including his grammar and spelling):

Znodis: There’s a Blade on the AH for 250g

Scammer: You have blade to buy?

Z: No, there’s one on the AH.

S: I buy blade for 300g.

Z: Just go to the weapon’s tab and search for Krol Blade.

S: I no undresand want Krol Blade.

S: You sell for 300g?

S: I buy 300g.

Z: No. Ask a guard how to get to the AH if you don’t know.

S: /trade WTB [Krol Blade] 300g.

A short while later he started up again with his macro in /trade. So there you go a new step 2.

Step 1: Loot a BoE epic.

Step 2: List it on AH, then get on an alt and offer to buy it for less(oops) more than the BO.

Step 3: Logout when the auction sells and don’t pay the guy. PROFIT!!!

4 Comments

  1. Kestrel said,

    Ahhh…very sneaky. Very nasty. Thanks for the head’s up.

    And of course what we’ll see down the road a bit is a “buyer’s remorse” 1 hour timer so we can cancel our auction bids.

  2. Kestrel said,

    Oh…and shouldn’t your Step 2 say “…more than the BO.”?

  3. Beware: New AH/Trade Channel Scam Afoot | Kestrel’s Aerie said,

    […] over at the Mystic Hunter blog posted info on a new scam that may be showing up on your server any minute […]

  4. Znodis said,

    Thanks Kestrel. Fixt.

Leave a Reply

