Return of an Epic

October 4, 2007 at 7:58 pm (Hunter, Warcraft, World of Warcraft)

The recent talk of a new legendary bow got me thinking about the previous hunter epic, and my prize virtual possession, Rhok’delar, Longbow of the Ancient Keepers. I could care less about the lame looking giantstalker set or the purpletastic dragonstalker, the whole reason I started raiding was to get an “Ancient Petrified Leaf” from the 2nd to last boss of Molten Core. Somehow, that managed to be the first epic I ever got (which is a long boring story full of me not getting epics). Since my guild had been farming Onyxia for 3 months and had yet to see the sinew drop, the hunters agreed to loot it based on the order we got our leaves. I was 5th in line, and had little hope. And then over the next 5 raids, 4 sinews dropped. I was on the 6th raid the day after Chrismas, for number 5 and my second ever epic drop.

With the raiding parts done, the rest was easy. Oh wait, no it wasn’t. The leaf started the quest, and the sinew formed the string, but to make the Ancient Rune Etched Stave required me to kill 4 elite demons solo. It was the most difficult and awesome quest in all of Warcraft. No help could be given, even from the pet. Absolute knowledge of the class was a requirement. Consumables needed to be stocked. It was like a solo raid. The most outstanding thing I’ve done in all my time in WoW.

That got me thinking how sad it was that new hunters will never gain that experience. Two drops from raids no one runs, basically guarantees it. The bow itself isn’t that special. There were better ones out almost immediately in BWL, AQ, and Naxx, and I replaced mine at 66.

Which also got me thinking… why not have hunter trainers give the leaf as a quest at level 60. The sinue could be replaced as a drop from one of the 4 demons easily, or as a new summoned boss if they wanted to put a bit of time in it.

I feel no loss at giving the quest without raiding. The raiding part was easy with the only difficulty being the randomness of the drops. The meat of the quest was in the demons, and anyone that can overcome those challenges deserves the bow.

Doing the quest at a higher level doesn’t concern me either. Most people who did this quest were in T1 or T2 gear, while I was in 3 pieces of beaststalker and greens. The higher difficulty gave me a higher reward, because it was such a huge upgrade. Doing the quest at 62 instead of 60 means they’re going to get 2 levels fewer use out of it.

The only drawback is that I foresee guilds requiring hunters to show their Rhoks before raiding as proof they know their class, but then is that really a problem?

Bring the epic to the masses.

2 Comments

  1. Kestrel said,

    You know…I never did any pre-BC raiding (nor have I done any post-BC!), but I love your idea. Of course, it wouldn’t be much challenge for a level 66 or 69 hunter (which mine are), but I also have a 40 hunter with whom I’d love to try something like that.

  2. Bloglights: September 28 - October 4 | Kestrel’s Aerie said,

    […] Mystic Hunter has a great idea for getting the pre-BC epic hunter bow to the masses. I think it’s a great idea with a lot of potential for other epics that can only be obtained […]

Leave a Reply

