We Are the Outliers

July 2, 2007 at 8:04 am (Game Design, Warcraft, World of Warcraft)

Welcome everyone coming from Mania’s Arcania. This blog doesn’t have much of a focus, and I don’t plan on changing that, but what I am interested in doing is seeing how people are pushing their class to the limits. And I don’t mean all min/max, epic’ed out looking like a purple smurf. I want to know how different classes work when you play them the “wrong way.”

Case in point is a melee hunter. I actually tried this back before 1.7 when Lacerate was the 31 point in the survival tree. I gave up at 44. This guy is finding he can off tank in non-heroic 5-mans.

I’ve also tried my hand at a Dagger Warrior. Fury specced it worked much better than you’d expect. I cruised all the way to 60 pre-BC, and had a full rare PvP set before the honor change last fall. The changed from a 1H, >2.0s sword/axe/mace to <2.0s- daggers noticeably increased my rage generation through Unbridled Wrath. It also switched the priorities for a lot of other talents and abilities. I’d go into it but I haven’t really played that char since before BC.

So tell me about your experience playing a class the wrong way. Or make a new character explicitly for the purpose. Some thoughts I’ve had were:

  • DPS holy priest
  • Mace Rogue
  • Tanking Shaman (worked pre-BC anyone tried it now?)

So let me know if you’re trying something different, what restrictions you put on your character, and how it’s playing out.

Leave a Reply

